Holidays: Ode to “A Christmas Story”

This beautiful living room by Martha Angus first caught my attention because of the positioning of the two couches.

russian-hill-03

Then, I realized there has only been one other place that I ‘ve ever seen this done, “A Christmas Story”.  My all time favorite Christmas movie.

a-christmas-story-living-ro

Okay, I’m not sure it ‘s the only place but being that Christmas is fast approaching this scene instantly popped into my mind.  I’m sure the above designer would die if she knew I were comparing her living room to this one.  But, since there is a great vintage Christmas tree in the above picture I thought it would be fun to pick one out for the room below.

russian-hill-02

The chair could be easily moved to another corner, because that’s the perfect spot for a tree, especially if we want to mimic the living room from “A Christmas Story”.

Although, a water reference is used in the large pictures that are used to help divide the space, the room doesn’t look particularly beachy.  But, I could envision a beautiful beach themed tree in this space like this one.  Maybe there is a view of the ocean outside the window.

This room isn’t rustic or cottagey.  It is glamorous and sophisticated.

Ocean Reef christmas Collage

I love the vintage feel of the white tree and the blues of the ornaments.  I would add a hint of orange in the tree to help accent the accessories in the room.  Here are a few that would give the tree a completely different feel.

orange flower ornamentNatural

orange pinecone ornamentRustic

nauticalornament  Nautical

I did a few things to my own tree this year to change up the norm.  I swapped out a rustic tree topper and skirt for a little more glam look, a faux fur skirt and a capiz shell lit topper, but added the burlap garland for a touch of the rustic.

photo (35)

What does your tree look like this year?  What’s your favorite Christmas movie?

2 thoughts on “Holidays: Ode to “A Christmas Story”

Leave a comment